I remembered yesterday.
I remembered to go get the garden soil. I just didn't feel like doing it, so I didn't. I have been so tired lately, I didn't feel like doing anything, so I came on home and watched TV, and knit a bit on the next sailor hat. I tried to sit outside for a little while, but the mosquitoes found me in next to no time. I really need to dig out my citronella candle now that spring is here.
Anyway, I went to bed last night at a little after 6:30, and though I didn't fall asleep until sometime around 8:00, it was so nice just laying there not doing anything.
Even so, I felt much better this morning when I woke up, so right after work, I zipped on in to Walmart and picked up four bags of garden soil.
I put two bags into each bed, and it got them just over halfway full.
I'll put a couple more bags in each one before I plant, but to be honest, it's probably got enough dirt in it since I dug out the clay. I did some figuring and I can put four tomato plants into the one bed. Now, I just need to decide which kind of tomatoes. I'm leaning towards Roma tomatoes, because I've read they make the best soup.
Don't get me wrong, I love me a good 'mater sammich, but there's no way I could eat that many tomatoes before they all go bad, so I'm thinking I can make tomato soup and put it into the freezer for next winter. Tomato basil soup mostly likely, since I'm going to have a garden full of basil, too.
While I was out there, I decided my green onions were ready to harvest,
well, past ready, really. I cut them, then chopped them up and put them into the freezer for whatever I might need green onion for. I'm thinking omelets for one. Maybe I can toss some into that soup while I'm at it.
By the way, I pulled up my little celery plant. It really wasn't doing anything, and the leaves keep dying off. Unlike my bluebonnets, which are more gorgeous than ever.
In other news, I watched the first episode of that new show on FOX, The Faithful: Women of The Bible. It was pretty good. This one was about Abram and Sarai, and it got to the part -- spoiler alert -- where Sarai sends her handmaid Hagar in to get pregnant by Abram, and I'm literally shouting at the TV, "Don't do it, Abraham! You have no idea the absolute hell you are about to unleash on the world!" But of course, he didn't listen...
Well, it's already past my bedtime, so I guess I'd better get off of here and go get ready for bed.
Goodnight, all.





No comments:
Post a Comment